published at 17/07/0132 Mise à jour le 16/10/2018
François Rabelais,

Le Tiers Livre (1552)

Browse the work

Le Tiers Livre de Pantagruel in its second and final version of 1552 (the first date of 1546, equally published on the BVH website) turns toward the question of marriage for Panurge, who does not want to find himself cuckhold, and toward the reward promised to him while continuing the tale of Pantagruel after the victory over the Dipsodes.

In order to know his uncertain future, Panurge questions his friend, the fates, soothsayers, scholars and a mute, all of whose responses are enigmatic and of little encouragement. He even consults the fool, Triboulet. At the conclusion of the comedic dialogues, Triboulet offers him the bottle of wine he has just emptied and seems to suggest that he go get the Word from the Divine Bottle in the imaginary land of Lanternois. This will become the quest of the following novel, Le Quart Livre, the last one completed by Rabelais.

The text is displayed in traditional spelling. However, it is processed with digital tools that permit selecting characters' names and places, visualising them and obtaining descriptive files. A version in modern spelling is currently in preparation.

Marie-Luce Demonet, August 2015.

Publié le 12/06/2015 Mise à jour le 16/10/2018
François Rabelais,

Le Tiers Livre (1552)

Parcourir l'ouvrage

Le Tiers Livre de Pantagruel dans sa deuxième et dernière version de 1552 (la première date de 1546, également publiée sur le site des BVH), s’il constitue bien la suite du Pantagruel (1532) avec la récompense promise à Panurge après la victoire sur les Dipsodes, dérive vers la question du mariage de Panurge — sauf que ce « héros » ne veut pas être cocu.

Pour connaître son avenir incertain,  il interroge ses compagnons, les sorts, les devins, les savants, un muet, dont les réponses sont peu encourageantes ou énigmatiques, jusqu’au fou Triboulet : au terme de ces dialogues de comédie, le fou lui tend une bouteille de vin qu’il vient de vider, et semble lui suggérer d’aller chercher le Mot de la Dive Bouteille, quelque part au pays imaginaire du Lanternois. Ce sera la quête du roman suivant, le Quart Livre, en fait le dernier achevé par Rabelais.

Le texte est reproduit avec son orthographe ancienne. Toutefois, il est traité avec les outils numériques qui permettent de sélectionner les noms de personnes et de lieux, de les visualiser et d’en obtenir les fiches descriptives. Une version en orthographe modernisée est en préparation.

Marie-Luce Demonet, août 2015.