published at 19/09/0103 Mise à jour le 16/10/2018
François Rabelais,

Le Cinquiesme Livre (1564)

Browse the work

Published eleven years after his death (1553), Le Cinquième Livre to Rabelais is still contested by some specialists despite the analysis by Mireille Huchon (Rabelais Grammairien, 1981), in which she authenticated a large part of its drafts.

Conversely, other specialists neglect the anonymous arranger who determined the layout, the transitions and the writing of certain passages, and incorrectly consider it as the completion of the pantagruelian epic. This version succeeds the 1562 publication of chapters I-XVI in L'Île Sonnante that the unsigned manuscript of the Cinquième Livre* (circa 1560?) completes without resolving all of the problems of the text.

This digital edition uses the 1564 edition with neither date nor location, and is based on the copy that seems the most reliable (BnF RES Y2 2169). It was published in the volume of the Oeuvres Romanesques by Rabelais, under the direction of Marie-Luce Demonet (Poitiers, La Licorne, 1999), having initially been published on the CD-ROM of the Electro-chroniques of Rabelais (1994) by the team EQUIL XVI from Clermont-Ferrand, and displayed onto the University of Nice website by Étienne Brunet (1995), after correcting the most obvious misprints.

Marie-Luce Demonet, July 2015

 

* currently in publication by the BVH

Publié le 20/01/2015 Mise à jour le 09/09/2015
François Rabelais,

Le Cinquiesme Livre (1564)

Parcourir l'ouvrage

L’attribution à Rabelais de ce roman publié onze ans après la mort de l’auteur (1553), sans doute à partir de brouillons en grande partie authentiques selon l’étude de Mireille Huchon (Rabelais Grammairien, 1981), est encore souvent contestée par certains spécialistes.

D’autres, au contraire, le considèrent à tort comme l’accomplissent de la geste pantagruéline, alors que l’arrangeur anonyme est responsable au moins de l’agencement, des transitions et de la rédaction de certains passages. Cette version succède à la publication des chapitres I-XVI dans L’Île Sonnante en 1562, autre énigme éditoriale que complète, sans toujours résoudre les problèmes de texte, le manuscrit non autographe du Cinquiesme Livre (vers 1560 ?) en cours de publication par les BVH.

Cette édition numérique reproduit l’édition sans lieu ni date de 1564 d’après l’exemplaire qui semble le plus fiable (BnF RES Y2 2169). D’abord publiée par l’équipe EQUIL XVI de Clermont-Ferrand, avec les corrections des coquilles les plus manifestes, sur le CD-ROM des Electro-chronicques de Rabelais (1994), puis mise en ligne sur le site de l’Université de Nice par Étienne Brunet (1995), elle a été éditée dans le volume des Œuvres Romanesques de Rabelais, sous la direction de Marie-Luce Demonet (Poitiers, La Licorne, 1999).

Marie-Luce Demonet, juillet 2015